Jeeves And Wooster Fun Site

Jeeves And Wooster Novels

By admin • Filed in: Jeeves And Wooster

Here is a chronological order of Jeeves and Wooster novels with list of the TV episodes in which the novels appear.

Thank You Jeeves

Year: 1934

Title:  Thank You, Jeeves.

TV episodes: Jeeves In the Country, Kidnapped!

Description: Thank You, Jeeves is a book by English novelist P.S. Wodehouse. In the book, Jeeves comes to the rescue of his employer, Bertram Wooster, as Bertram is involved into a possible social disaster. What is different in this novel – the fact that Jeeves is no longer employed by Bertram Wooster because of his dislike of Bertram’s new hobby of playing the banjolele. But Jeeves decides to work for Bertram’s friend, Chuffy, making him assessable to Bertram as he struggles to help Chuffy marry the woman of his dreams, a young woman who was once Bertram’s fiancé. Thank You, Jeeves is an amusing novel that that will please Wodehouse’s loyal readers and new readers alike.

Right Ho Jeeves

Year: 1934

Title: Right Ho, Jeeves (or, Brinkley Manor)

TV episodes: Hunger Strike, The Matchmaker

Description: Has Jeeves Finally Lost His Grip? When Jeeves suggest dreamy, soulful Gussie Fink-Nottle don scarlet tights and a false beard in his bid to capture the affections of soppy Madeline Basset, Wooster decides matters have definitely got out of hand. Especially when it comes to a disagreement over a certain white mess jacket with brass buttons. Taking Jeeves off the case, he embarks on a little plan of his own to bring Madeline and Gussie together. But when things go disastrously wrong who can Bertie turn to in his hour of need but Jeeves?

The Code of the Woosters

Year: 1938

Title: The Code of the Woosters

TV episodes: Jeeves Saves the Cow Creamer,A Plan for Gussie

Description: The Code of the Woosters is the first installment in the Totleigh Towers saga. It introduces the characters of Sir Watkyn Bassett, the owner of Totleigh Towers, and Roderick Spode, later known as Lord Sidcup after his ascension to Earldom.

Jeeves in the Morning

Year: 1947

Title: Jeeves in the Morning (or, Joy in the Morning)

TV episodes: The Once and Future Ex

Description: Jeeves in the Morning is a novel by P.G. Wodehouse, first published in the United States on August 22, 1946 by Doubleday & Co., New York, and in the United Kingdom on June 2, 1947 by Herbert Jenkins, London. Some later American paperback editions bore the title Jeeves in the Morning.

The Mating Season

Year: 1949

Title: The Mating Season

TV episodes: Right Ho, Jeeves, Hot Off the Press

Description: ‘The Mating Season’ is one of the books about Bertie Wooster and his valet Jeeves, by PG Wodehouse. In this book, Bertie goes to stay at Deverill Hall, in fear that Madeleine Bassett will decide to marry him. Complex and amusing situations are tidily resolved by Jeeves, as ever. Gentle humour and clever plotting which work particularly well when read aloud.

The Return of Jeeves

Year: 1953 – 1954

Title: The Return of Jeeves (or, Ring for Jeeves)

TV episodes: …

Description: The young and impoverished ninth Earl of Towcester is Jeeves’ temporary new master while Bertie Wooster is away at school. Lord Towcester’s rather complex situation is soon straightened out by the ingenious Jeeves, who has all problems of romance and finance solved and is on his way again.

Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit

Year: 1954 – 1955

Title: Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit (or, Bertie Wooster Sees It Through)

TV episodes: The Delayed Arrival

Description: When Jeeves returns from his annual shrimping holiday in Bognor Regis, he’s in for a few surprises.Down at Brinkley Court, Aunt Dahlia is trying to persuade the publishing magnate L. G. Trotter to buy her magazine, M’Lady’s Boudoir. Trotter’s nephew, the whiskered Percy Gorringe, is head over heels about Florence Craye whose engagement to Stilton Cheesewright has just been called off. Florence is convinced that Bertie wants to marry her and Stilton wants to break his spine in six places. To top it all, there is ill-feeling in the Wooster home over Bertie’s attempts to grow a moustache!

How Right You Are Jeeves

Year: 1960

Title: How Right You Are, Jeeves (or, Jeeves in the Offing)

TV episodes: …

Description: A Bertie and Jeeves classic, featuring a cow-creamer, the redheaded Miss Wickham, and the formidable schoolmaster Aubrey Upjohn. Jeeves is infallible. Jeeves is indispensable. Unfortunately, in How Right You Are, Jeeves, he is also in absentia. In this wonderful slice of Woosterian mayhem, Bertie has sent that prince among gentlemen’s gentlemen off on his annual vacation. Soon, drowning dachshunds, broken engagements, and inextricable complications lead to the only possible conclusion: “We must put our trust in a higher power. Go and fetch Jeeves!

Stiff Upper Lip Jeeves

Year: 1963

Title: Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves

TV episodes: Trouble at Totleigh Towers

Description: Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves is a novel by P. G. Wodehouse, published in the United States on March 22, 1963 by Simon & Schuster, Inc., New York, and in the United Kingdom on August 16, 1963 by Herbert Jenkins, London. It is the ninth of eleven novels featuring Bertie Wooster and his valet Jeeves.

Jeeves and the Tie that Binds

Year: 1971

Title: Jeeves and the Tie that Binds (or, Much Obliged, Jeeves)

TV episodes: The Ties That Bind

Description: Jeeves, who has saved Bertie Wooster so often in the past, may finally prove to be the unwitting cause of this young master’s undoing in Jeeves and the Tie that Binds. The Junior Ganymede, a club for butlers in London’s fashionable West End, requires every member to provide details about the fellow he is working for. When information is inadvertently revealed to a dangerous source, it falls to Jeeves to undo the damage.

The Cat-nappers

Year: 1974 – 1975

Title: The Cat-nappers (or, Aunts Aren’t Gentlemen)

TV episodes: …

Description: ‘Go to the country, breathe pure air, go to bed early and get plenty of exercise. If you do not do this, I cannot answer for the consequences.’ On doctor’s orders Wooster withdraws to the country, there to lead the quiet martini-less life, to sleep the sleep of the just in Maiden Eggesford. The air is nimble, the countryside appealing, and only the presence of the irrepressible aunt Dahlia shatters the rustic peace.

Comments are closed.


« | Home | »